Cards That Actually Work for Facebook and Google Ads, Ranked by Reliability
Every provider in this category sells the same thing: a BIN that supposedly passes any check. None of them sells the three numbers that actually decide whether your ads keep running, because two of those numbers are theirs and the third one is embarrassing.
The problem shows up the same way for everyone scaling spend. As one seller put it on r/dropshipping: “Card declined errors even when balance is fine. One card works, then suddenly stops working. Switching cards sometimes triggers account issues. […] every time I start scaling, payment issues slow everything down.”
Rank these by reliability rather than by BIN marketing and the order inverts. The regulated issuers with card ceilings high enough to scale, Wallester and Revolut Business among them, cost a fraction as much to run and hold your float under a licence, though their own complaint records are not clean either. The specialist media-buyer platforms charge a percentage on every top-up and, where there is a documented complaint pattern, are where the money gets stuck. The declines themselves usually trace back to something neither group advertises: the card type Meta and Google will accept for automatic billing.
Why the declines happen, and why the BIN is rarely the reason
Both platforms publish what they take, and both lists are narrower than the market assumes.
Meta’s accepted methods are credit cards and co-branded debit cards, PayPal, direct debit in a limited set of countries, and manual local methods like iDEAL in the Netherlands or Multibanco in Portugal. Prepaid cards do not appear anywhere on that list. There is no explicit ban, but the absence is the point: an entire product category is being sold for a use case its own platform documentation never names.
Only cards and PayPal enable automatic payment on Meta, and Meta’s own condition for that is that your bank supports recurring payments on the card. Everything else on the list operates on available funds, which means you prepay and the ads stop when the balance runs out.
Google is blunter. Its help documentation states directly that Google does not accept prepaid cards for automatic payments. Prepaid works only for manual payments, and manual payments are not available in the US, Canada or most of Europe. For a European or North American advertiser, a prepaid card is not a slower option there. It is not an option.
Many of this category’s cards are prepaid instruments. Google names prepaid as unacceptable for automatic payments; Meta’s accepted list never mentions prepaid at all. That single fact explains more mysterious declines than every BIN quality claim in the market combined.
The other recurring cause is authentication. Meta states that in some countries 3D Secure is mandatory when the card is added, and that failures there can come from an undelivered one-time code or from the issuer’s own internal rules. Recurring charges afterwards normally fall under the merchant-initiated exemption from strong customer authentication, which is why the first charge behaves differently from the tenth, but as Stripe’s own documentation on the rules puts it, exemptions are not guaranteed. A card whose issuer insists on an in-app confirmation for charges you are not present for will fail at the worst possible moment, which is when the billing threshold trips at 3am.
What to check first when a card is refused today
Before changing provider, three things are worth eliminating, and practitioner guidance puts them in this order. Add the card at the business-settings level rather than directly on the ad account, because a payment method attached in the wrong place, or by someone without full admin rights across the assets, produces a “payment method not accepted” loop that has nothing to do with the card. Check that the billing address on the card matches what the platform holds, character for character. And confirm the card is enabled for online and international transactions, which is a setting on the issuer’s side and is off by default more often than people expect.
If all three are clean and the card still fails, the problem is the instrument, and that is the section above rather than a support ticket.
The card ceiling nobody checks before signing up
Running one card per ad account is standard practice, and several providers cannot support it at all. This is the specification to check first, because it is the one that quietly caps how far you can scale on a provider you have already onboarded to.
| Provider | Card ceiling | Who can actually open it |
|---|---|---|
| Wallester Business | 300 virtual cards on the free plan at €0/month, extra cards €0.35 per card per month; 3,000 on the €199 plan | Any EEA or UK legal entity, with onboarding extended to Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Iceland, Singapore, Switzerland and the US. No declared revenue threshold |
| Revolut Business | 3 physical plus 50 virtual cards per team member, plus 50 company virtual cards | Broad EEA and UK coverage |
| Wise Business | Maximum 3 active digital cards per cardholder, replaceable up to three times a day | EEA, UK, Switzerland, Canada, US, Singapore, Japan, Philippines, Australia, New Zealand, Brazil |
| Mercury | Unlimited virtual debit Mastercards where permitted; the IO card is available to most from day one | Needs a US entity. No card at all for residents of roughly 30 countries, even when the account itself is open |
| Payoneer | Prepaid, spend-what-you-have balance card | Requires at least $100 received in the previous six months, excluding e-wallet credits. No longer issued to residents of Russia or India |
| Ramp | Not a route for non-residents | Requires a US entity, EIN, roughly $25,000 in a linked US bank account and a real physical US address: no virtual office, registered agent or mail forwarding |
| Brex | Corporate cards | Requires EIN, US entity and US operations, but a virtual office can serve as billing address. Approval is discretionary on business model and source of funds |
Sources: each provider’s own help documentation and pricing pages (help.revolut.com, wise.com/help, payoneer.custhelp.com, support.mercury.com, support.ramp.com, brex.com/support, wallester.com/business/pricing), checked directly. Airwallex is the notable absence: it belongs in this comparison, but its card ceiling was not verified at source in the same pass as the rest of this table, so we have not ranked it rather than quote a figure we did not check. Verified 2026-07-23.
Wise is the surprise on that list. It is the default recommendation for cross-border business banking, and with three active digital cards it cannot run a card per ad account for anyone with more than three of them. That is not a defect, it is a product built for a different job, and it is worth knowing before the ad accounts exist rather than after.
The 3-4% nobody puts in the spreadsheet
The specialist platforms are free to open and expensive to use, and the cost is deliberately placed where nobody models it: the top-up.
PST.NET charges a deposit fee its own materials put at 3-4%, funded largely in crypto, with third-party review sites quoting wider ranges by card tier. AdsCard and FlexCard sell the same model on the same pitch, and we have no provider-specific data on either.
Spendge charges €5 to issue a card and €5 a month to maintain it, often refunded if the card has been active, on a minimum deposit of $300. Its published USDT top-up is roughly 1% plus 2 USDT, while third-party reviews report 1.3% to 2.5%, a discrepancy we could not resolve. It also charges between €0.44 and €0.87 plus 1% for each declined transaction, which is a memorable way to monetise the problem you came to solve.
Put a real budget through it. At $50,000 a month of ad spend, a 4% top-up commission is $2,000 a month, or $24,000 a year, to move your own money onto a card. Wallester’s free plan is €0 a month with 300 cards and free EUR top-ups by bank transfer, but its FX is the Visa rate plus 2% whenever you spend in a currency you do not hold. Run the same USD spend from an EUR balance and that 2% is $1,000 a month, so the honest comparison is 4% against 2%, not against zero. It reaches zero only when the balance currency and the ad account’s billing currency match, which is a matter of setting the account up deliberately rather than a property of the card.
The trade you are being offered is that percentage in exchange for a claim: that these BINs pass checks other cards fail. It is a vendor claim, made by the party collecting the percentage, and there is no independent data behind it. We could not find a single measured decline rate for any BIN in this category, from any provider, in any public source. The paid affiliate communities are behind paywalls and the open forums do not run the test.
That applies to the regulated side too, and it is worth saying before Wallester starts looking like the sober alternative. Wallester runs a dedicated media-buying product page selling four BIN configurations, exclusive dedicated, shared, and two BIN-range variants, positioned exactly as the specialists position theirs: as protection against ad account blocks. The verifiable difference is that these are the BINs of a regulated Visa issuer rather than a reseller’s access to somebody else’s. The marketing lever is the same one, and it is unmeasured on both sides of the market.
The question this site actually asks: who is holding your float
Ad spend cards carry a float. You top up ahead of spending, and at scale that float can be five figures sitting with whoever issued the card. So the real reliability question is what that entity is.
| Provider | What is holding your money | What the complaint record shows |
|---|---|---|
| Wallester | Its own EMI licence from Estonia’s Finantsinspektsioon, and a Visa Principal Member since 2018. Not a reseller on someone else’s programme | Trustpilot around 4.2-4.3 with recurring complaints about funds held for weeks over beneficiary name mismatches and accounts suspended under “internal procedures”. Wallester’s public position is that no account is frozen or terminated without a breach of its agreement |
| Revolut Business | A licensed institution, with the scale and the public record that comes with it | More fraud reports than any large UK bank in 2023 at 9,793 to Action Fraud, roughly double Monzo’s, and a 2024 BBC Panorama featuring over 100 customers including frozen business accounts, one holding £165,000 |
| Mercury | A fintech running on partner banks rather than a bank in its own right, and a US entity requirement to use it | In August 2024 it closed accounts for founders in 37 countries with about 30 days’ notice on compliance grounds, confirmed publicly by its CEO. The country restriction list is still live |
| Payoneer | A card issued through a third-party programme | The structural precedent is June 2020: when the FCA froze Wirecard Card Solutions, every Payoneer card stopped working for days, through no fault of Payoneer or its customers |
| Wise | A licensed institution, and the default recommendation for cross-border business banking | User and forum reports of sudden deactivations with funds retained, holds of 30 to 60 days after closure, and cases of around €100,000 held for months. Recurring signals rather than individually verified cases |
| Spendge | No licence and no partner issuing bank declared anywhere on its own site. Its privacy policy says the company is based in Ukraine; a third-party company database says San Francisco. No company registration number is publicly findable, and its own site quotes two different BIN counts on two different pages, 8 on one and 24 on the other | Trustpilot 4 out of 5 across nine reviews, no G2 presence, and no discussion traceable on the open media-buying forums. That is an absence of evidence, not a clean record |
| PST.NET | A card platform, not a licensed institution, funded largely in crypto | A recurring Trustpilot pattern of accounts cancelled with funds inside and no way to withdraw, large deposits frozen after small ones had cleared, requests to deposit more to release what was already there, and manual withdrawals taking up to 14 days |
Sources: licence and pricing details from the providers’ own sites; the Revolut fraud figures and Panorama coverage, the Mercury closures and the 2020 Wirecard freeze from press reporting; complaint patterns from Trustpilot and public forums. User complaint patterns are recurring signals, not individually verifiable cases, and are labelled as such. Verified 2026-07-23.
Read the right-hand column and the honest conclusion is not that regulated providers never freeze anything. Every name in that table has a freeze or closure record of some kind; what differs is whether there is a licensed entity and a regulator behind it, or a website whose registered address cannot be established. That distinction costs nothing while everything works and is the only thing that matters on the day it does not.
The pattern is the same one that runs through why dropshipping accounts get frozen at Stripe, PayPal and Shopify on the money-in side. Same business, same risk tiering, opposite direction of travel.
One card per ad account: the reason that survives scrutiny
The practice is near-universal among media buyers, and the reason usually given for it is not the good one. As one buyer described the theory on r/FacebookAds: “switching to dedicated cards for each ad account […] made the accounts look a bit more legit in Meta’s eyes. I also made sure to use US based payment methods which seems to have reduced random flags.”
Nobody outside Meta can confirm what Meta’s systems read into a payment method, and anyone claiming otherwise is guessing with confidence. The reason that holds up without insider knowledge is blast radius: one card per ad account means a decline, a fraud block or an expired card takes down one campaign instead of the whole operation. That is also exactly what the buyers who have been through it ask for, in the words of one on r/AirwallexOfficial: “I need a better way to manage ad spend: one card per ad account, hard monthly limits, ideally single use cards for sketchier tools.”
Hard per-card limits are the underrated half of that. They cap the damage from a compromised card, and they make reconciliation possible at the end of the month, which stops being optional somewhere around the tenth ad account.
The order, and what it is based on
Reliability here means two things and nothing else: the card keeps working when the platform bills it, and the float is somewhere you can get it back from. On those two tests, and with the caveat that no BIN in this market has a measured decline rate, this is the order. Ramp is not in it: its entry requirements, a US entity plus roughly $25,000 in a linked US account and a real physical US address, put it out of reach of the readers this article is written for, rather than below anyone on reliability.
Wallester Business, for an EEA or UK entity first choice
Its own EMI licence, its own BINs as a Visa Principal Member, and 300 virtual cards on a plan that costs nothing. The honest caveat is a complaint record that includes funds held for weeks over name mismatches, so it is a first choice rather than a safe one.
Revolut Business, if you are already on it
Licensed, 50 virtual cards per team member plus 50 company cards, and enough scale that the failure modes are documented in public. That documentation is also why it is second: no name here has a larger published freeze record.
Mercury or Brex, but only with a US entity
Unlimited virtual cards where Mercury permits them, and Brex where a virtual office suffices as a billing address. Check the country restriction lists first: Mercury will open an account for founders it will not issue a card to.
Wise, and only under three ad accounts
Excellent at what it does, structurally unable to run one card per ad account past three. That is a ceiling rather than a fault, and it does not move.
Payoneer, if the money is already arriving there
It fails the first test in the main markets of this article: it is a prepaid balance card, so Google will not take it for automatic payments and Meta’s accepted list does not name it, which leaves manual payment where manual payment exists. It is here for people whose money already arrives there. The second reason for the position is June 2020: when the FCA froze Wirecard Card Solutions, every Payoneer card stopped for days, with nothing the cardholders had done wrong.
The specialist platforms last, and not for moral reasons last
They are last for three reasons in this order. Much of what they issue is prepaid, which is the disqualifier the whole first section of this article is about. You pay a percentage on every top-up for a claim nobody has measured. And the float sits with an entity whose licence, issuing bank and registered address are, in the clearest case, not stated anywhere on its own site. If you use them anyway, use them as spending accounts rather than as places money sleeps.
How to choose
- ✓
Start from the card type, not the provider. If it is prepaid, Google will not take it for automatic payments and Meta’s accepted list does not mention it. That decision comes before any comparison of fees.
- ✓
Check the card ceiling against the number of ad accounts you expect in a year, not the number you have today. Three cards is a hard stop, 300 is not.
- ✓
Multiply the top-up commission by your annual spend before comparing anything else. A percentage on top-ups is the largest line item in this category and the one presented as a detail.
- ✓
Keep the float small. Top up in working amounts rather than parking a quarter’s budget on a card platform, whoever issued it.
- ✓
Ask who holds the money and under what licence. If the answer is not findable on the provider’s own site, that is the answer.
- ✓
Run a second provider in a different regulatory home before you need it. Every name in the float table has a freeze or closure record of some kind, and the fix for that is redundancy, not loyalty.
Which entity should be holding the account behind those cards in the first place is a separate decision, covered in how to actually structure an online business.
FAQ
Why does my card keep getting declined on Facebook Ads even though the balance is fine?+–
The most common structural reason is card type. Meta’s accepted methods are credit cards and co-branded debit cards, PayPal, direct debit in some countries and local manual methods; prepaid cards appear nowhere on that list. Automatic billing also requires that your issuer supports recurring payments on the card, so a card that demands an in-app confirmation for every charge will fail when the billing threshold trips.
Can I use prepaid or virtual cards for Google Ads?+–
Not for automatic payments. Google’s documentation states directly that it does not accept prepaid cards for automatic payments. Prepaid works only for manual payments, which are not available in the US, Canada or most of Europe.
Are specialist media-buyer cards like PST.NET worth the top-up fee?+–
That depends on evidence nobody has published. The fee is real and put at 3-4% per top-up by the provider’s own materials, which at 4% is $24,000 a year on $50,000 a month of spend; the benefit is a vendor claim about BIN quality with no independent measurement behind it from any provider in the category.
Which provider gives the most virtual cards for ad accounts?+–
Of the regulated options, Wallester’s free plan includes 300 virtual cards at €0 a month, with extra cards at €0.35 per card per month, rising to 3,000 on its €199 plan. Revolut Business allows 3 physical and 50 virtual cards per team member plus 50 company virtual cards. Wise Business caps at three active digital cards, which does not scale to one card per ad account.
Is Wise good for Facebook ad spend?+–
For small operations, yes. For anyone running more than three ad accounts on separate cards, the three-active-digital-card limit is a hard ceiling, and it is a product decision rather than a fault.
What is the actual risk with unlicensed card platforms?+–
The float. You top up before you spend, so at scale a real amount of your money sits with the issuer. With a licensed institution there is an entity and a regulator behind a freeze. With a platform whose licence, issuing bank and registered address are not stated anywhere on its own site, the recurring complaint pattern, funds stuck and slow manual withdrawals, is the only information available.
So which card should I actually use for Facebook ads?+–
For an EEA or UK entity, Wallester Business on its free plan is the first choice on the two tests that matter, a regulated issuer holding the float and a card ceiling that scales, with the caveat that its complaint record includes funds held for weeks. Revolut Business is the alternative if you are already on it. With a US entity, Mercury or Brex. Wise only under three ad accounts. The specialist platforms come last, because you pay a percentage for an unmeasured claim and the float sits somewhere you may not be able to identify.
Does using one card per ad account stop Meta from flagging accounts?+–
Nobody outside Meta can confirm what its systems infer from a payment method. The benefit that holds up regardless is containment: a decline or a block takes down one ad account instead of all of them, and per-card limits cap the damage and make monthly reconciliation possible.
Written by Daniel Hart, who covers neobanks, account freezes and cross-border banking for neobankfit. Based on Meta’s and Google’s own published payment-method documentation, each provider’s help pages and pricing, press reporting on the Revolut, Mercury and Wirecard episodes, and recurring complaint patterns from Trustpilot and public forums, labelled in-body as user reports rather than verified cases.
This article is general information, not financial advice. Provider terms, card limits, fees and country eligibility change frequently. Check current terms before committing spend to any of them.